Agents software and experience they are having with it

Topic Views - 190

Hi everyone,

I’m a graphic designer learning User Experience area and I’m working on a Contact Center agent’s workplace. I’m trying to understand what is important to agents and what annoys them most in current solutions, what they wish they had at their fingertips but they don’t and all other user experience data in CC agent’s day to day work.

I’ve arranged a couple of face to face interviews and here’s what I extracted from them:

Agent’s work is a lot of muscle memory. That means that all UI elements should have distinct size and spacing so that nothing will be accidentally misclicked when you’re not really watching.
A lot of current programs have problems fitting everything that is needed on one screen and try to deal with this problem in not ideal ways, such as hiding some stuff behind extra clicks and sacrificing font size and spacing.

To reiterate on previous statement, font size is usually too small and it is very important to have it clearly and quickly readable, it should be as large as possible in reasonable limits. Same goes for input fields.

Agent’s software often lacks hotkeys making it slower to navigate, dropdown lists lack typeahead so you have to use mouse to select what you need.

Post call processing time is often being cut to the minimum or even zero and there is no way to really do after call processing, other than stacking this work for your break time. Some optimization here would really be appreciated.

Data fetching from CRMs and databases could be really slow and that compromises overall experience by lot.