Feedback on training

Topic Views - 301

Trainer / Webmaster

Volvo Action Service

Feedback on training

Dear all,

Forgive me if this topic has been tackled already but I was wondering what experiences you have with feedback to given trainings ?

Being a trainer myself, most of the time we are "updating" people on procedures and showing them new ways of handling customers. Seen the fact that the training needs to be qualified, there is not only a need to register these trainings but also to have a sort of feedback from the people attending. In most companies, this is done by a "form" of some kind where the attendees are asked to fill out their experiences. Now .. in a 24hour organisation like ours, this proves to be extremely difficult to follow up and most people are not that keen on filling out these forms over and over again.

Does anyone have experience in this field ? Tips are certainly very welcome.
Thanks in advance ...

Feedback on training
Hi Kris,

Welcome, the question you are asking is how can you gain delegate feedback if they dont wish to fill in the forms.

The answer is you cant. Trainers always come across boredom and the unwillingness to complete the happy forms. However the more significant factor is not to give too much emphasis to happy forms, they are subjective and do not test for learning. They are simply a crude immediate emotional response to the training and in the context of a systematic learning cycle they shouldnt carry too much weight. As long as you are meeting your learning objectives and your evaluation holds up then I wouldnt be too concerned.

Trainer / Webmaster

Volvo Action Service

Feedback

Thank you very much for your quick reply. It is indeed always a battke to have people filling out these happy form and I agree that they are a emtional response to what has happened.