FTE Calculations

Topic Views - 5865

Partner

Infinity Communications

I'm required to calculate the number of FTEs in a Call Center.

What i have is :-

Number of Inbound Calls per Month is 1,320,000.

AHT is 120 Seconds

Service Level 85%

1 FTE is 172 Hours per month.

Please help

Editor

Call Centre Helper

You need to break down the calls by half hour and then you need to use a call centre calculator. (This is often known as an Erlang calculator).

https://www.callcentrehelper.com/erlang-c-calculator-2473.htm

WFM Analyst

Hi Stells,

I'm new to workforce, this will be what i will do according to the available information. Will be more accurate if plan shrinkages and occupancy can be provided as well.

Volume 1320000

AHT 120

Total 158400000

Total Hours 44000

FTE hours / Month 172

Total FTE Needed 256

WFM Analyst

Hi Jonty,

I notice you had give alot of valueable advise in different posting.

Would like to seek your advise for this.

I had make some calculation for Manual VS ErLang C ( which consider SLA & Waiting time ) but manual calculation didnt.

Below are my finding. Above 256 FTE was manual and without consider SLA & waiting time.

i make by default 20 sec waiting time allow. and below will be the SLA target and how much of additional FTE needed compare with manual. 85/20 SLA will need additional 58% FTE.

SLA Extra FTE

100 481%

90% 67%

80% 51%

70% 41%

60% 33%

50% 27%

Please share your thought.

Editor

Call Centre Helper

Hi Ivan

The manual calculations are usually wrong as they do not factor in the call arrival patterns and assume that the call volume is even across the day and that there is no service level calculation.

I would always take the Erlang output over a manual calculation.

WFM Analyst

Hi Jonty,

Yes, agree with you advise. But i do have another concern that in the situation if the business unable to provide the half hourly volume, i can only use the manual calculation method that include shrinkages and OCC.