Listening to calls

Topic Views - 1550

Trainer

I am a soft skills trainer for a telecommunications company, and I find that during my training sessions agents want to hear examples of calls. The problem that I face though, is that when you find a call to play (good or bad) and suggest to managers about playing calls from their agents, the response is that they would rather have calls played from our outsourced vendor (especially if they are bad calls) so that the agents don't feel picked on or embarrassed. The agents know that their calls are used for training and quality purposes; and by playing bad calls just from the outsourcer doesn't that instill a belief that the outsourcer isn't doing an adequate job? Any feedback or suggestions?

Sales Manager

hallwaysproducts

It’s disappointing to hear your team leaders do not see the multiple positive opportunities call listening can provide for team effectiveness. In a previous role I used my call listening sessions as a coaching exercise and the way it was done, it was often a great rapport building opportunity too. Rather than being an uncomfortable arduous chore, it became a bit of a giggle. Ok not every time, but it certainly wasn’t something I dreaded.

Ask your agents to choose the call themselves. How can they feel picked on, when they pick the call? :) Ask them to score the call. 9/10 they will mark the call a lot lower than you or the managers will. You can ask the agent to point out areas they did well in. Again 9/10 the will talk about what they did badly, giving you the option to highlight their strengths.

Call listening should be an opportunity to grow your agents and something they buy into if the objective is delivered correctly. BTW, I will be reading this to myself when I introduce call listening to my team in the next month or so!

Good luck

Quality Manager

Close Premium Finance