The Power of Zero

Topic Views - 251

Agent Advocate

Freelance Writer

The Power of Zero
I am faced with a situation at work which demonstrates the impact of poor decision-making upon agent morale. I work as a technical support / customer service agent with an outsourcer. One of the most important sections on our evaluations scorecards relates to call quality. Until recently, the score was derived from 5 customer point of view questions (was the customer treated with respect, was the issue resolved, etc.).

Owing to a new quality initiative implemented last month, 2 new questions have been added to our quality score: Was the agent rude to the customer? and Is this a missed sales opportunity? A ‘yes’ to either of those questions results in a quality score of zero. While the first should obviously result in zero (and would before, since rudeness would drive all the customer impact questions to zero), the second question is having an extremely demoralizing effect on agents. For example, the agent could have a great conversation with the caller, address all their issues, resolve all problems, and leave the customer feeling great about their call; yet the agent could receive a quality score of zero because they did not attempt to sell the customer an additional product.

Obviously, I am one of those agents or I wouldn’t be writing this.

A zero is a very powerful number. It says that your work is worthless. It should only be reserved for extreme situations, as in rudeness. If I tell off a customer, I would expect a zero. However, I would not expect a zero when I have customers praising me for my help, or telling me that this was the best call they have ever had to our company. If I did not attempt an upsell, I might expect to lose points, but the total negation of the call is completely demoralizing. As we are only monitored once per week, a single zero in very difficult to work off in a month; two would be impossible.