What age range are the best to employ and why?

Topic Views - 461

CSA

Dixons Store Group

I am a student and doing some research on what people are best to employ in call centres, I would say students as they:

+ Have advance technolgical skills
+ Are more adaptable to change
+ Are flexible; are able to work Peak periods
+ Work for lower pay
- High attrition rate
- Tend to have more sick days

Older People I would assume are the opposite?

What would you say?

Ageism
Older People I would assume are the opposite? What would you say?

I would say you are being assumptive and prejudicial but then I'm blunt. I would say where is the analysis to back up your conclusions?

Ageism is a form of discrimination that can affect anybody, regardless of how old they are. Most often it works in favour of people aged 25-35 and reduces employment prospects for older people, women returners and younger workers.
It can prevent applicants who have the skills, abilities and potential required by employers from getting a job.
It can prevent in employers from hiring the best (and potentially, the most productive) applicants.

Facts
• The UK labour market will soon contain more people aged over 40 than people aged under 40.
• Absenteeism rates vary little between age groups.
• Older workers stay in their jobs longer than younger people.
• Research shows that older people are as capable of learning new skills as younger people.
• Over-targeting of particular age groups by groups on employers can lead to inflated labour costs.
• Many employers are already tackling age discrimination to keep ahead of competitors.
• Public support is growing for the introduction of age discrimination laws.

Legislation